the WordPress vs Blogger battle

So today I discovered the joys of WordPress.
Wordpress is another blogging “engine” that might beat out blogger for my current favorite blog site.  It allows for easy tagging of your posts, something I have been wanting from blogger since day one.

In fact, there are multiple things about the default set up that I enjoy in WordPress.  The search engine feature is very nice, as is the easy adding of links and link categories.

Check out my basic WordPress site here

I might eventually switch to WordPress in the very near future.  There are just a couple things that blogger does better:

  • Ability to email to post new blogs (which is what I’m doing now).
  • Storage of pictures instead of just linking to them
  • spell checker.

If i can figure out work arounds for 2 out of 3 of those issues, I may leave blogger in the dust.
What do you think?  I’m still not ready to commit to a hosted solution, but is WordPress worth it? or will blogger get tags soon?

2 Responses to the WordPress vs Blogger battle

  1. Matt says:

    I know what you mean. I’m currently using Rapidweaver from realmacsoftware.com, but I’ve been toying with porting it all over to wordpress’s server version. Let me know what you think about it….blogger is great but it doesn’t have all of the more “uber” features that some of the other hosting services.

    keep it up.

  2. vishaal says:

    Hi, I recently started blogging and after starting a blog at blogger, came across wordpad. Are the issues that you pointed out during your switch –
    * Ability to email to post new blogs (which is what I’m doing now).
    * Storage of pictures instead of just linking to them
    * spell checker
    … been resolved? Also, I wasnt clear about whether the free or paid version of wordpress is superior to blogger. Can you edit templates that are available in wordpress?

Leave a Reply

