For lack of a better post

I think I will switch entirely over to wordpress.com for now. The features they give more than make up for their current shortcomings. This will be the second blog I abandon, the first being xanga. The switch from xanga to blogspot was obvious. Xanga is no fun.

This change is more about organization rather than blogspot shortcomings. Google’s blogger is a real nice tool, I just wish they had incorporated more “Web 2.0” happiness sooner. The categories is what is really doing it for me in wordpress. Plus, it looks like they are actively developing and responding to the requests and needs of their growing user base. I think that most of the small problems I have with wordpress will go away in a short amount of time.

Also, if I get the urge, it wouldn’t be hard to get wordpress running on a machine of my own and hosting my own blog. In which case, you readers will have to change rss feeds once again, which would be the only downside. But right now, someone else can worry about keeping my blog accessible and maintained.

If I get one of those old powermacs from work like I really want (they have 4 that no one will ever use again), then I might indeed switch to self-hosting, but the chances are slim of that occurring. (I raised the question and was told that surplus gets sent to Topeka for auction, although they have been sitting around for a year and still have not been sent in, very frustrating)

In related news, school starts Monday for me, so that will be a scary new challenge. I am taking 3 math classes and 2 comp. science classes, all of which is a bit intimidating, but I think I’ll survive. I really need to get to know some of the other kids in my programming class, as I believe the programs are coded in teams! Scary stuff.

I wanted to add something to my blog, but I couldn’t think of anything clever or interesting, so this is all I had.

One Response to For lack of a better post

  1. matt says:

    I’ve completely switched over to your wordpress RSS feed to so keep the posts coming. later

Leave a Reply

