Picasa on Linux

snapshot4.pngWell I finally got around to installing Picasa onto my Ubuntu box. Coming back from a 2 week vacation with a few hundred pictures got me interested in photo organization again. In my opinion, iPhoto is a dog. I wish this wasn’t true. I wish I could gloat over Windows users with the speed and ease of iPhoto, but I can’t. Each time I open that thing up I get frustrated. It organizes pictures in a convoluted date based system, it takes forever to start up, forever to scroll through pictures, and two forevers to do anything else.

I have avoided using iPhoto by trying out iView Media Pro for awhile. While it can organize photos in a much more systematic way, its still slow. Plus, every time I want to do something in that program, it takes me 30+ minutes to get it done. The UI is not very friendly to me, and options that I think should be obvious (like copying a picture to the desktop by dragging it there) aparently don’t exisit. Plus now that Microsoft has bought out iView, I don’t think this program is going to get any new exciting features any time soon.

And so I installed Picasa on Ubuntu. I found instructions which made the process trivial, so that was nice. I wish I could say that all my photo organization problems have been solved through Picasa, but alas, this is not the case. While I have seen Picasa work incredibly fast on very outdated Windows XP machines, on Linux on top of Wine, it remains sluggish and CPU intensive. However, this performance hit seemed to decrease after sitting there for awhile (I couldn’t tell you why). But while editing photos, I probably won’t be able to do much else. Picasa also seems to add extra folders to its viewer that it should be ignoring (the “originals” folders that appear after editing an image).

Even with the slowness, I think I will continue to use Picasa because its organization features are just that good. It takes the best of both worlds of sequential and event organization. The folders are arranged by date, and separated by year, but within this date system, you assign meaningful names to the folders. Plus all the image folders are stored at the same level. So instead of drilling down to specific days like you have to in iPhoto, i.e. 2006 >> 12 >> 25, you have folder names like “Christmas 06”. Plus you can tag your photos with keywords to help you find them later.

I know that iPhoto has some tagging features and the folder setup has gotten better, but it still doesn’t seem nearly as intuitive or easy to use as Picasa is. Plus, with 8,000+ photos, Picasa still moves faster than iPhoto on my iMac that has … 25 pictures.

Google: we’ll buy anything you want us to if you get a team of developers to make a Cocoa version of Picasa, I promise.

I also came up with a decent backup system and automatic-remote-picture-addition system that I will detail in the next few blogs.

Update: Aparently others have problems with iPhoto as well.  Not many solutions yet.

One Response to Picasa on Linux

  1. […] Network Photo Transfer The last part of my photo management project was to have an easy way to move images into Picasa. While we will use the Ubuntu box to view and […]

Leave a Reply

